h1

Not Easy to Rest

September 4, 2007

Saturday morning I played pick-up soccer and tweaked my right ankle. It made a bit of a crunching noise and I hobbled off the pitch, but within a couple of minutes I was walking all right and able to drive home. Today I am walking with almost no limp, but there's still some swelling. I've been religious about ice and ibuprofen. It's killing me to take a few days off from playing, but I know that is the best thing … especially at my age. Ugh.

It will be easy to skip this Saturday's game because Vicki and I are taking the kids to DC to watch an MLS match between DC United and the New England Revolution. One of Vicki's former students, Chris Loftus, plays for the Revs. The DC fans are fantastic supporters of their side, so the atmosphere should be great. Then I hope to be back out on the practice fields Monday.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a comment