h1

Val makes it to homebase!

April 10, 2008

It's the small victories at this point for Val. She got up in time this morning to make it to homebase–not the start of it, but she got there well before it ended. She's also going to try to go the whole day without additional medicine from me or Vicki. She's got Tylenol in the school nurse's office if she needs it. Her lunch just ended, so if I don't hear from her in the next few minutes, she's probably going to make it.

Perhaps it's the early spring air that made it easier for her today. As I sat down at my computer to start my work, sunlight was streaming across the keyboard. In a few week this will mean another hot Carolina summer day is upon us, and I'll close my blinds to keep from overheating. But today, as the temperature nears 80 for the first time this year, the sun is welcome. Another small moment to savor.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

