h1

The Best Book I’ve Read in a While: Jake Fades

November 17, 2007

I'll just put my biases up front: it was easy for me to like this book because it's about Boston, Buddhism, beer, and sex. If the author had thrown in a soccer game or a couple of hockey references and I might have called it The Best Book Ever Written.

Fuller disclosure: the author, David Guy, has been my friend and teacher. From him I learned about two practices, writing and meditation. For the last month I have been recommitting myself to my meditation practice, and I am amazed at the subtle but profound difference it makes in my life. David was my primary instructor when I sat regularly at the Chapel Hill Zen Center. This book he has written can give you a taste of the kind of teacher he is: clear, real, and insightful. He sees and is shaped by traditional Zen teachings and practices, but reveals them in modern American life. He also shapes a great story and writes terrific dialog, all with humor and no sentimentality. I did not want the book to end. David's teaching has deepened my life, and Jake Fades shows how.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

