h1

Beatles Love

December 26, 2006

Vicki gave me this in my stocking (with a great deal of hinting from me), and I love it! Not just a compilation of Beatles songs, Love is the soundtrack of the Cirque de Soleil show of the same name. Giles Martin, son of the legendary George, beautifully mixed original Beatles master tracks in a way that modernizes the sound without making it cliche or trendy. The most amazing thing about the music is how incredibly durable it is. I'm 43 and I've listened to the Beatles since I can remember hearing music (my mom somehow was not driven to insanity by my brother and me despite our playing "Nowhere Man" over and over and over–it's the first 45 I remember owning). To listen to Love is to be reminded again how the power of the Beatles resonates without ceasing, not an echo from the past as much as a resurfacing into the present.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

