h1

Connecting

September 7, 2006

I have had some incredible opportunities to travel this year, and I have enjoyed all the cities I've visited: Manila, Singapore, Wiesbaden, Heidelberg, Warsaw, and finally Barcelona and Sitges. But as great as it is to travel to such fantastic places, what has really impacted my life is the people I've met. I have learned so much from the perspectives of the training colleagues I've encountered. I am only 43, but it stuns me still that this year I have: sat in a biergarten with friends from Hungary and the Czech Republic who had driven that day across what had been the Iron Curtain; heard trainers teach our workshop speaking Mandarin; and  walked among the pubs, cafes, flower stands, and sidewalk musicians of Warsaw's Old Town, which had been barren less than 20 years ago.

Now I have this group I met in Spain. We are from four continents. We learned about things we have in common (Monty Python?), and about some ways we see things differently. I left Spain far richer than I arrived. They are fine trainers and even finer people.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

